migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Grrr...can we ship all stupid people to an island?

+5
AuntieBubbs
Hal
Richard
Paradox
HeelerLady
9 posters

Go down

Grrr...can we ship all stupid people to an island? Empty Grrr...can we ship all stupid people to an island?

Post  HeelerLady Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:19 am

Preface: I woke up extremely sensitive to stimuli this morning and have been random bouts of pain and am cranky. So working from home so not to rip coworkers to shreds for having an irritating voice.

I am an administrator and sort of manage requests for assistance with statisticians. I got a request for assistance this morning from a person (I'll just call him Bob). Bob had a project reviewed with an internal agency (that makes sure that it's ethical and not going to cause unnecessary pain and suffering) and it came back with major issues that need to be addressed. It was reviewed over 2 weeks ago. Bob has requested to meet by Tuesday. This is not going to happen. We have a mandated furlough day tomorrow (which we would all love not to take but it's a downside to working for the State under a dumber-than-a-post Governor) which would leave Monday. This is a busy time of year for the staff and the minimum wait is normally a week - which has been widely PUBLICIZED. I respond to Bob that it's not going to happen and is going to be at least a week possibly two. The DA calls and leaves a voicemail (I get it in email so I can know when I have them and don't have to call to retrieve them). He really wants to meet before Tuesday as that's when the board is reviewing his project and if he doesn't make this deadline, he's going to have to wait until May. So Bob, I'm sorry but your stupid self shouldn't have procrastinated, if you had contacted us when you got notice of the problem, you wouldn't be in a time crunch. And since it is a major issue, you have no idea how long it will take for a statistici