migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I'm not a Doctor but I play one on the Internet

5 posters

Go down

I'm not a Doctor but I play one on the Internet Empty I'm not a Doctor but I play one on the Internet

Post  Paradox Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:47 am

Obviously with all the back problems I've been having for the past year (and all my adult life) I've been doing a great deal of research on the Internet. I started to have a couple new symptoms and I was shocked when theynwere symptoms (along with the chronic sacriilietis) of a particular type of arthritis. Why shocked, I don't know, my aunt had severe rheumatoid arthritis.

I guess because I never have a name for anything.

Any who, how to I ask my Dr about this type of arthritis without 1) telling him how to do his job and 2) coming off with med student syndrome.

I would be very happy if the Dr was able to say"no, it's not that because of blah blah" It does not look like a easily manageable arthritis. But, it would explain a lot of things....
Paradox
Paradox

Back to top Go down

I'm not a Doctor but I play one on the Internet Empty Re: I'm not a Doctor but I play one on the Internet

Post  VickiG Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:23 am

Your answer probably depends upon what kind of relationship you have with your doctor. Some doctors, like my headache doctor, love it when I do my own research and ask her questions about what I find online. Other doctors, like my FORMER headache doctor (the one who said I should just commit suicide), feel very threatened by the proactive patient.