migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help with DVD Player Purchase

3 posters

Go down

Help with DVD Player Purchase Empty Help with DVD Player Purchase

Post  lesherb Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:34 am

Hi folks,

I am one step above illiterate when it comes to DVD players. We have 2 of them hooked up right now and I can operate them. The one in the living room is an HD-DVD player which came with surround sound. Not too long after that obtaining this player, we heard that Blue-Ray was deemed the standard.

I have a subscription to Netflix. The DVDs from them play on our player so I assume they're not Blue-Ray. Netflix also has an option of streaming movies to your TV to watch (instead of watching them on the computer or waiting for them to arrive in the mail).

My husband's employer rewards the employees with "points", which can be used to purchase items at a specific catalog website. Among the items offered there, are DVD players. I can weed out some as not being what I want but to give you an idea of my challenge, the total number of items is 102!

We have an HDTV. I am hoping someone here can help me select one that has these features:

1. Ability to play Blue Ray DVDs.
2. Ability to play regular DVDs.
3. Ability to use Netflix's 'straight to TV' video playing

I can't tell if some of these Blue Ray players can play regular DVDs. I also want to make sure I am getting the best picture (HD) I can. I guess Blue Ray has HD integrated into it, right?

If anyone is willing to help me select a player, I could weed out the ones that I know don't fit the bill and just show you the ones I am considering (by sending you the info about it via email).

You can post to me here and then we can do this via email.

Thank you for reading and a great big thanks to whomever chooses to help me with this (if someone does). You're the best!

With appreciation,
£eslie
lesherb
lesherb

Back to top Go down