migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sinus infections

5 posters

Go down

Sinus infections Empty Sinus infections

Post  Ruth Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:47 pm

Had to go to my dentist today as I haven't been feeling well for a while now, and apart from vertigo etc. etc. I have had the most excruciating pain down the left side of my face. It turns out (after x rays) I have a sinus infection. I am new to this and wondered if anyone here has them and what's the best way of easing the pain, and also avoiding them. He gave me Motrin but it didn't touch the pain, so I took a couple of T3's and it helped somewhat. I am also on antibiotics.

Thanks.

Ruth

Back to top Go down

Sinus infections Empty Re: Sinus infections

Post  Guest Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:55 pm

Ruth,

Very sorry to hear. I have sinus infections about 3-5 times a year. Almost always, my doc prescribes an anti-biotic which works for me. A lot of broad-spectrums do work, and it's typically a 10 day dose.

Usually I'll take Tylenol or Benadryl, or use Nasonex to open up the passages.

Good Luck!
-mgb

Back to top Go down

Post  Greeneyes Fri Jul 23, 2010 7:11 am

Ruth..I'm so sorry that you have a sinus infection.

I have chronic sinusitis all the time..I take antibiotics for atleast 4-6 weeks..do a nasal rinse..and a steroid nasal spray. I take 800 mg of a prescription strength Advil. Also, I heat up a wash cloth and microwave it until it's hot..that can help..also, like peppermint tea and candy.

Hoping and praying, that you feel well soon.

Bless you,
Greeneyes
Greeneyes
Greeneyes

Back to top Go down

Post  Sara79 Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:42 am

I'm another with chronic sinus issues. Hot spicy foods can help me break up congestion better than some prescription decongestants. Also as much hot tea as I can stand to drink. Take care!

Sara79

Back to top Go down

Post  Ruth Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:52 am