migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Maxalt

+2
Migrainegirl
svb90
6 posters

Go down

New to Maxalt Empty New to Maxalt

Post  svb90 Mon May 12, 2014 1:51 pm

I am new to maxalt, and I've been prescribed 5mg tablets. I avoided it as a kid due to my mothers' warning because she has been a user of Maxalt for the last decade or so. However, as a teen, my migraines have gotten substantially worse and it's getting in the way of school. Friday was the first time I took maxalt having caved in after holding off of it for the last 4 years or so, as I've been warned of how strong it is. At first I felt no tangible side effects until about 2 or 3 hours after consumption. I felt the usual grogginess, feeling of "intoxication", slight nausea - I'm normally very sensitive to medication, so it's not uncommon for me to experience all forewarned side affects. I went to sleep as per usual and woke up on Saturday morning feeling migraine/side effect-free. However, later in the day, the effects came back and have been a nagging issue since. Today is Monday and I'm typing this at school, as I absolutely cannot focus or function like a proper human being. I was wondering if what I'm experiencing is expected. If so, how long can I expect for this to last? I'm not sure if it's the aftereffects of my previous migraine (which was the worst to date), rebound-related symptoms (as I took 2 Advils prior to a Maxalt tablet), or if it's the medication itself. Any feedback would be great, thanks!

svb90

Back to top Go down

New to Maxalt Empty Re: New to Maxalt

Post  Migrainegirl Mon May 12, 2014 6:41 pm

It could be any of those things.  I've often been left wondering. 
It is good to take only when you really need it to avoid getting into a rebound situation.
(Although rebound after 1 pill is highly unlikely). 

My nuero told me to limit myself to no more than 3 x per week of any pain med.