migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie here, Hi from New Zealand

4 posters

Go down

Newbie here, Hi from New Zealand Empty Newbie here, Hi from New Zealand

Post  redzone Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:18 am

Hi all, bit isolated down under. Not much info and don't know anyone with similar migraines so found this forum via google and soon learned mine are very mild indeed.
Got diagnosed in Feb (had a couple of aura's) and now I pretty much get headaches daily with nausea.
What I call my days off are usually 2-5 days of 1 or 2 a day. My days on might be a week of 5-8 headaches with nausea per day and maybe a couple of those intense enough to need to resort to bed for an hour at worst.
I guess I have had headaches and nausea for a couple of years and not known what they were as they were quite spread out and now the regularity has got to the daily stage.
Tried several natural remedies and still having accupucture and chiropractic treatment and 2 weeks ago started on Topomax (Topiramate) 25mg x 7 days 50gm 7 days and tonight I will go to 100mg.

Anyway a problem shared seems to help and you all seem to be managing under nasty symptoms and my hats off to you all.

Chris
redzone
redzone

Back to top Go down

Newbie here, Hi from New Zealand Empty Re: Newbie here, Hi from New Zealand

Post  living Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:50 am

Hey Red,

I'm from Brisbane so we're neighbours =) Welcome to the forum! sorry to hear your head is horrible. I wouldn't call your daily migraines mild...Unless you're a superhero and can take superhuman amounts of hell! lol! It definitely is true hey a problem shared makes all the difference to me. I'm sorry you are feeling isolated...but I'm afraid that seems to come with the territory. Are you housebound with your migraines at the moment? What kind of support do you have? Are abortives any good for you?