migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Skull damage, clean MRI, positive ANA...what does it mean?!? PLEASE help!

3 posters

Go down

Skull damage, clean MRI, positive ANA...what does it mean?!? PLEASE help! Empty Skull damage, clean MRI, positive ANA...what does it mean?!? PLEASE help!

Post  Quadill Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:46 am

Hello all,
I am new to the blogging game but unfortunately not new to the migraine game :-/...for the sake of time conservation I will try to keep it brief. After several years of fighting the war with my brain I went to my family physician and approached the idea that, because of my family history (mother and maternal grandmother are migraine sufferers and maternal grandfather was a cluster headache sufferer), I wasn't just plagued with severe headaches every other day, but migraines. My physician accepted this and prescribed me a medication, Ketorolac possibly?, over the next year I was switched/prescribed to MANY different medications (some of which I had tried simply because my mother had them on hand). In 2009 I heard about Topamax so I began it. To date, I have had to increase the dosage at an alarming rate, this month alone I have gone up 100mg when it has taken me six months to increase by 50mg in the past. In January I decided I had had enough, a 12 day migraine stretch in which NONE of the 9 medications I had on hand worked (all tried at different times of course) suggested to me that something else could be going on...after looking into Neurologists in my area I scheduled an appointment and compiled a detailed family and personal history. When I looked in to my family's past I found brain tumors localized in general areas which I noted, but my own history was more interesting.