migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Research Participants!

4 posters

Go down

Research Participants! Empty Research Participants!

Post  emcandy Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:23 pm

Hello Everyone!

My name is Elise Candy and I am a psychology honours student at Griffith University, QLD, Australia. I am conducting research into the use of online support groups for headache disorder sufferers in conjunction with my supervisor Professor Paul Martin, a prominent researcher and clinician in the headache disorder field and head of school here at Griffith University.

The title of my research project is ‘Testing a model for online support group use, empowerment processes and psychosocial outcomes for headache sufferers.’

The aim of this project is to determine how accessing headache support groups online impacts on the individual in terms of personal empowerment and its relationship with various psychosocial outcomes, including coping with headaches, self-care self-efficacy in headache management and health-related quality of life.

We believe that this project is important because it will help develop an understanding of how using online support groups empower headache sufferers in terms of headache management, their own personal resources and coping strategies and quality of life.

We also believe that community members might find participating in this research beneficial, with the potential for increased understanding of one’s own coping resources and the potential empowerment processes associated with using such online headache support groups as this.

To complete this survey we require that you meet the following criteria:-

1) Suffered from frequent headaches/migraines for at least 6 months and suffered from headaches/migraines on average at least once per week.
2) 18 years of age or older