migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The ongoing saga of Michele's Migraines

2 posters

Go down

The ongoing saga of Michele's Migraines Empty The ongoing saga of Michele's Migraines

Post  micheletroyer Thu May 21, 2015 5:18 pm

Got Botox on Monday (18th) after 3 1/2 months between injections.  It helps, but wears off after 2 months.

Had to go see NP for rescue injections, and allowed myself the luxury of 50 mg of Demerol, in addition to the rest of the cocktail.

My mother has me trying wearing a bracelet with a piece of metal sewn into it that is supposed to cure everything from restless leg syndrome to migraines.  Being a medical professional, I'm very skeptical, so if it does work, I know it's not just the placebo effect.  She experienced relief from RLS, and insisted I try this bracelet for a week.  Something about the metal piece is supposed to ward off electromagnetic frequencies and sound waves, etc.  It's called the Bionic Bracelet, if anyone wants to check it out, and it costs $50.

Midrin is back on the market!  This is the only non-narcotic pain reliever that has worked on my mild to moderate migraines (severe Ms still require injections).  When I used it 15 years ago, it cost me $10/month out of pocket (no drug coverage then).  I didn't get the Midrin delivered from the pharmacy when I expected, so called the pharmacy, and they told me it now needs a prior authorization, because it's not on their formulary.  I was desperate for some pain relief, so asked the pharmacist what it would cost me out of pocket, expecting to hear $10-20. NO.  90 pills (one months supply) would cost me $500 out of pocket, and buying 10 pills to tide me over until the PA comes through (hopefully) would cost almost $70....just can't do it.  That's a lot of money that could buy a lot of beads and supplies  Smile.  So I'm just waiting.