migrainepage
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

MSG and Migraine

+2
dcook60
Kem10
6 posters

Go down

MSG and Migraine Empty MSG and Migraine

Post  Kem10 Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:52 am

I'm just beginning to explore this area and it looks daunting to try to avoid MSG in my food but going to give it a try never the less. If any one else is interested here are some articles to get started.
http://migraine.com/blog/msg-untangling-this-hidden-migraine-trigger/
be sure to read part 2 also, link at the end of the article. There seems to be a LOT of names and hidden sources for MSG in our food.
Kem10
Kem10

Back to top Go down

MSG and Migraine Empty Re: MSG and Migraine

Post  dcook60 Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:32 pm

yes, kem, this enterprise of avoidance can be very daunting.  but it's so worth it!  since MSG is an excitatory neurotoxin, everyone on the planet is sensitive to it, but most are not as sensitive as migraineurs, and don't notice any bad effects. their livers are likely detoxifying it; i don't know why mine isn't so good at that!

personally, i have not knowingly eaten anything with MSG or its many clone-names for 16 years, and it has paid off for me.  yes, you've read that i still have daily migraines, but now they are manageable, and i rarely (maybe once every 8 months or so) have to go to bed for 2 days and suffer hideously.  before the MSG revelation, i could count on a frequency of more than once/month in bed, missing everything in life.  

msgmyth.com and msgtruth.org are two other enlightening websites.  i met the couple who started msgmyth and they are fine, generous people.  they live in my state and were very helpful to me when i had NO IDEA how to feed myself without this additive.  

dianne
dcook60
dcook60

Back to top Go down

Post  Kem10 Sat Mar 22, 2014 6:35 am

Thank you for those sites Dianne. I shall definitely check them out. Smile